Journal History

2011 Inaugural issue is released. Animals is published as a quarterly journal.
Animals is covered by Zoological Record (Clarivate Analytics).
2013 Animals is indexed by Scopus (Elsevier) in May.
2014 Animals endorses the ARRIVE Guidelines.
2015 Animals is indexed by PubMed (NLM).
2016 Animals changes to a monthly publication schedule.
2017 Animals is accepted for indexing in Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science), from Vol. 5 (2015).
Animals starts the Travel Awards project.
2018 Animals receives its first Impact Factor of 1.654.
Animals launches the Young Investigator Award project.
Animals established the following sections:
2019 Section "Animal in Society and Policy" was renamed as "Public Policy, Politics and Law Section".
Journal published its 1000th paper.
Animals established the following sections:
2020 Animals announced the first edition of the Outstanding Reviewer Award.
The 1st International Electronic Conference on Animals was organized by the Animals.
2021 Animals announced the first edition of the Best Cover Award.
Animals announced the first edition of the Academic Conference Grants.
The year 2021 marks the 10th anniversary of Animals.
2022 Animals has adopted a semimonth publication schedule.


Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Clive J. C. Phillips
Associate Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Marina Von Keyserlingk
Associate Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Gareth Pearce
Associate Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Mandy Paterson
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Velmurugu Ravindran for section Poultry
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Dr. Stephen J.G. Hall for section Small Ruminants
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Dr. Michael Hässig for section Animals Physiology
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Michael E. Davis for section Animal Genetics and Genomics
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. Sven Dänicke for section Animal Nutrition
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Dr. Roy Neville Kirkwood for section Animal Reproduction
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Dr. Kenji Saitoh for section Aquatic Animals 
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Dr. Jukka Jokimäki for section Birds
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Dr. Bertram Ostendorf for section Ecology and Conservation
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Dr. Steven P. McCulloch for section Public Policy, Politics and Law
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Darryl Jones for section Wildlife
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Dr. Xavier Manteca for section Zoo Animals
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Dr. Chris W. Rogers for section Equids
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Cinzia Benazzi for section Veterinary Clinical Studies
Back to TopTop