



biomolecules

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that the winners of the *Biomolecules* 2020 Young Investigator Awards are Mateusz Maciejczyk and Sonia Medina Escudero.

Dr. Mateusz Maciejczyk is an assistant professor of the Department of Hygiene, Epidemiology, and Ergonomics of the Medical University of Bialystok. Dr. Mateusz Maciejczyk received his PhD in 2019 and has an outstanding publication record, comprising 113 publications in peer-reviewed international journals (78 original articles, 21 review papers, and 14 monographs) with a total impact factor of 373.01. According to the Scopus databases, his h-index is 24. Dr. Mateusz Maciejczyk is also the author of 132 scientific meeting communiques, and co-author of a patent application.

Dr. Sonia Medina Escudero is a postdoctoral researcher of the Department of Food Science and Technology at CEBAS-CSIC (Spanish National Research Council) in Murcia, Spain. She received her Ph.D. in 2012 in Agri-food Resources and Technologies. After her dissertation defense of Ph.D., she carried out two post-doctoral stays in Colombia and Portugal for 30 months. She has an outstanding publication record, comprising 90 publications in peer-reviewed international journals (80 are JCR articles and 10 are book chapters). According to the Web of Science and Scopus databases, her h-index is 23.

2020 YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARD

WINNERS

As the awardee, Dr. Mateusz Maciejczyk and Dr Sonia Medina Escudero will each receive an honorarium of CHF 1000, an offer to publish a paper free of charge before the end of 31 December 2022 in *Biomolecules* after peer-review, and an engraved plaque.

We would like to thank all the nominees from various fields of study for their participation and all the Award Committee Members for their evaluation.

The Biomolecules 2020 Young Investigator Awards Evaluation Committee

